Support Sankara Nethralaya
Home Heartfelt Stories News Projects Publications Recognitions Donate Now Contact Us

Tax Benefits - INDIA
To Support Sankara Nethralaya

Donations to MEDICAL RESEARCH FOUNDATION are exempt under Section 80G of the Income Tax Act.
Donate Now

For Online Donation Click Here
All Master/Visa Credit And Debit Cards Accepted

Home / Recognitions
Awards & Honours for Sankara Nethralaya
Sankara Nethralaya
Sankara Nethralaya was adjudged as the ‘Best Hospital in Ophthalmology’ in the Best Single Specialty Hospital category for the second year in succession at the annual ICICI Lombard – CNBC TV-18 healthcare awards held at Delhi. The award with a huge participation of 4000 hospitals from across the country, a highly distinguished, multi discipline jury and scientific evaluation parameters has emerged as among the most comprehensive and authoritative verdicts of the healthcare sector. Sankara Nethalaya was also adjudged the ‘Best Hospital in Ophthalmology in India’ by the Week Hansa Research after an extensive and exhaustive study of specialty hospitals in the country; this again is a second year in succession honour by the highly prestigious joint research initiative. The Sankara Nethralaya campus at College Road, also won accreditation by the National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Healthcare Providers (NABH) the highest evaluation parameter in the country for health care providers.

Multiple prestigious awards for Dr.S.S.Badrinath, Chairman Emeritus
Dr.S.S.Badrinath, Chairman Emeritus was awarded the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ for his monumental contribution to the world of eye care, by the All India Ophthalmic Society, the second largest professional body for ophthalmologists in the world, at the AIOC held at Cochin. TiE Chennai the prestigious business promotion body also honoured Dr SS.Badrinath, with a ‘Life Time Achievement Award’. The Nehru Sidhant Kender Trust recognized Dr SS.Badrinath’s service to humanity and honoured him with the Satpaul Mittal National Award at Ludhiana, Punjab on 17th November 2012. Pfizer India the Indian subsidiary of global research and pharmaceutical monolith, Pfizer Inc awarded the prestigious ‘Healthcare Leadership’ award for his dynamic leadership and significant role and critical contribution to the delivery of better patient care in India.

Life time achievement award for Dr.S.Bhaskaran
Dr.S.Bhaskaran, Chairman, Sankara Nethralaya was honoured with a ‘Life time Achievement ‘award by the prestigious Tamil Nadu Dr MGR Medical University.

Best Doctor Award for Dr.T.S.Surendran
Dr.T.S.Surendran, Vice-Chairman, Sankara Nethralaya was honoured with the ‘Best Doctor’ award for the year 2011-2012 by the prestigious Tamil Nadu Dr MGR Medical University.

Life time achievement award for Dr.H.N.Madhavan
In what could be considered as a proud testimony to the Vision Research Foundation’s pioneering work and its illustrious President’s lifelong contribution for the cause of research in general and microbiological research in particular the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists (IAMM) the prestigious body honored Dr.H.N.Madhavan, President, Vision Research Foundation with a ‘Life time achievement award’ for the year 2011. The Society of International Association of Medical and Pharmaceutical virologists (IAMPVC) awarded the ‘Professor S. Subramanian Oration Award’ for the year 2012 to Dr.H.N.Madhavan on the occasion for his oration on “Insights of molecular techniques in the diagnosis of viral infections’, at the Triple Helix auditorium at CLRI on the 10th November 2012.

Senior Faculty Member from the Elite School of Optometry elected to Prestigious World body
Dr.S.Ramaswamy serving as Professor of Anatomy at the Elite School of Optometry has been recognized for his outstanding research and service to the field of anatomical sciences and the cause of education by the prestigious Anatomical Society and awarded the Fellow of the Anatomical Society FAS). This would give him the status of a Full member of the Society.

Dr.Tarun Sharma wins International Scholar Award
Dr.Tarun Sharma
Dr.Tarun Sharma, Director, Bhagwan Mahaveer Vitro-retinal services, Sankara Nethralaya was honoured with the ‘International Scholar Award’ by the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Paul Harris Fellowship Award
Dr.L.Vijaya was awarded the coveted “Paul Harris Fellowship” award by the Rotary Club of Madras Fort and Rotary Club of Singapore in July 2012.

Recognition by NABL
Recognition by NABL

Sankara Nethralaya Larsen & Toubro Microbiology Research Centre’s External Quality Assessment Programme (EQAS) for Clinical Microbiology labs in India has won recognition by NABL. The Centre for Disease Control and Prevention Atlanta, USA recognized the L&T Microbiology Research Centre and the VRF Regional Laboratory as National and Surveillance labs for receiving the newly developed dengue PCR kits.

Dr.Jyotirmay Biswas wins multiple recognitions
Dr.Jyotirmay Biswas
Dr.Jyotirmay Biswas, Director Uveitis & Ocular Pathology Department won the ‘Overall Best paper Award’ at the 69th AIOS held at Ahmedabad, he was awarded the ‘Dr Alim Memorial oration award’ and decorated with the ‘Honorary Fellowship of the All India Ophthalmic Collegium’ at the AIOC, Cochin. He has also been elected ‘Member of the American Uveitis Society’ a most prestigious ophthalmic body.
In-Sight Book
For More Information -
To Donate
facebook youtube